AGM Minutes 2012

Tom Storey YTAA Chairman welcomed all present to the AGM describing the house rules and the organisation of the evening.


Geoff Ward, Claire Storey, Brian Bainbridge, Bob Woolsey, Jonathan Parsons, Geoff Adams, Darrell Shimmin, Oliver Shimmin, Ben Foster, Andy Stronach, Ashley Hardy Robert Bolton and Peter Higginson.

2. MINUTES OF PREVIOUS AGM (20February 2011)

Following two minor editorial alts the minutes of the above were accepted as a true record and signed off by the Chairman and Secretary.


There were no matters arising from the minutes of the 2011 AGM.


4.1 Report by the Treasurer

Ian Hardy YTAA Hon. Treasurer opened his report by explaining that the audit requirement agreed at the 2011 AGM had been undertaken by Ray Varney. Ray's only question was regarding receipts for rents paid; YTAA have never asked riparian owners for receipts. Although some rents are significant amounts several are peppercorn and charity donations and collecting receipts is not practicable. Ian pointed out that the reduced membership had meant the five year plan to raise the improvement money for Stearsby top lake improvement is now £1300.00 behind budget.


David Hope asked if our right to fish could be challenged as we had no proof of rent payment. YTAA accounts show all income and expenditure, YTAA have evidence of all cheques cashed, direct debits and bank transfers. John Green suggested that the high joining fee was discouraging new membership, there was general agreement with this from the members present. Norman West proposed that the annual joining fee be set at 50% of the season's subscription, this was seconded by John Green.
For 25 : Against 3 : Abstain 1 : Carried.

Richard I'Anson proposed that there be no fourth drop (late season introduction at Stearsby. This was seconded by Alec Hoskins.
Carried unanimously.

Richard Wright suggested that advertisements in local tackle shops may promote new membership. The Secretary agreed to do this.

4.2 Report by the Secretary

The Secretary gave a summary report of the association's business throughout the 2012 season most of which had been communicated in the newsletter. The key points being:-

The 2011 working parties; good work all-round especially well attended parties at the new waters on the Dove system.

During 2011 a thorough review of the membership card and re-write of the constitution had taken place.

The website continues to be very well managed by Kelvin, further updates will be made for the new season.

Following consultation with the membership leases at Bulmer Beck and Terrington pond are not being renewed in 2012.

The EA grayling introduction into Isle Beck will continue in 2012.

Despite weed concerns the bottom pond remained fishable throughout 2012.

The leak at the bottom pond sluice was contained thanks to Sam Seago's ingenuity.

4.3 Catch Returns

To be compiled.

4.4 Report by the Chairman

The Chairman thanked the membership present for their attendance remarking that it was very pleasing to see such a good turn out. The two honorary officers were thanked for their continued hard work for the association. Ray Varney was also thanked for volunteering last year and undertaking the Audit on our accounts. The Chairman encouraged all present to try and take part in at least one work party. The importance of the Beck return books was emphasised by the Chairman all to make an effort to complete the Beck returns. Finally the Chairman thanked Pete Conde for his excellent work in compiling and analysing the catch returns.


Tom Storey Chairman, Ian Hardy Hon. Treasurer, Bob Sawdon Hon. Secretary, Committee; Peter Conde, Alan Bull and Darrell Shimmin was re-elected en-masse by unanimous vote.


Sam's Raffle

Sam Seago had very kindly once again organised a fund raising raffle. Thanks are recorded to Sam for his on-going support and generosity to the club. The committee and members had donated many prizes; Sam's raffle raised £132.00 (a record) for the club's coffers. There being no further business the Chairman closed the 2013 AGM at 21.00hrs.

R W Sawdon - Hon Sec YTAA

Tom Storey - Chairman YTAA